Historic Preservation

The Washtenaw County Historic Preservation Program is dedicated to supporting local historic districts, spurring heritage tourism, and attracting investment in our historic resources. It is Michigan's only county-wide Certified Local Government - providing access to additional economic development resources.

Application for Review of Work by Historic District Commission

Historic District Commission


Historic Districts & Markers

House and Trees

Heritage Tourism

Willow Run

The Commission oversees the County's local historic districts and promotes a culture of historic preservation.

A local historic district is an entity that protects the integrity of historic resources. Washtenaw County has 15 districts.

These self-guided tours celebrate and highlight a variety of historic and cultural resources.

History of Washtenaw County

Red Barn

Historic Resource Database

Small House

Historic Preservation Basics

Big House

Learn more about the history of Washtenaw County, which was formally established January 1, 1827.

You are invited to explore the historic resources of Washtenaw County using HistWeb, our online mapping interface.

Learn more about designation options for local historic resources.

The Historic Preservation Program is housed within the Office of Community and Economic Development (OCED), and  includes the Washtenaw County Historic District Commission and its staff. Preservation projects span nearly three decades of identification, documentation, and heritage tourism. Several projects have been partially funded by grants provided by the State Historic Preservation Office's CLG grant program, including public workshops, heritage tours, survey, and site-based projects in Chelsea, Dexter, and Ann Arbor.

Additional Information

For more information, email Kat Slocum, Historic Preservation Staff or call (734) 544-6747.