Public Boards, Committees, & Commissions Index

Washtenaw County has hundreds of volunteers serving on more than 2 dozen advisory bodies. The central goal of our boards and commissions is to engage with community members and topic area experts to advise Washtenaw County leadership on policies and programs that impact residents who reside and work in Washtenaw County.

To learn more about the various advisory bodies that members of the public are eligible to serve on, click below for brief descriptions and links to more information.

In addition to these bodies, county leadership, staff serve on a variety of other Boards, Committees, Councils, and Commissions. To learn more about this work, click here.


Established by Board resolution on February 15, 2023, the purpose of the Advisory Council on Reparations is to outline the specific ways that County policies and practices have historically and continually harmed the lives of Black people and to develop recommendations for the Board of Commissioners in the form of a Washtenaw Reparations Plan. The plan will include recommendations around specific actions to address redress in the sectors of homeownership and access to other quality affordable housing, increasing business ownership and career opportunities, strategies to grow financial equity and generational wealth, closing the gaps in health care, education, employment and pay, neighborhood safety and fairness within criminal justice.

More information on the Advisory Council on Reparations can be found here.