The Washtenaw County Clerk/Register’s office is closed to the public through April 13, 2020.
Our offices will not be available in-person or by phone during this time.
Certain Clerk/Register services will continue at reduced capacity ONLINE and BY MAIL - Please see here for more information.
Documents in URGENT need of being recorded during this closure may be submitted by:
e-Recording or United States Postal Service mail (only) to:
Washtenaw County Register of Deeds, PO Box 8645, Ann Arbor, MI 48107
Please submit ONLY documents that are in URGENT need of recording at this time.
Please allow extra time for recordings and electronic tax certifications to be processed.
Effective 3/26/2020: e-Recording has been reinstated.
Effective 3/26/2020: the Washtenaw County Treasurer has resumed providing tax certificates for documents submitted electronically (only).
If submitting by mail use only USPS as any other mail/package carrier may not deliver to our PO box.
For more information contact firstname.lastname@example.org
Fees for Recording Documents
Payment methods: cash (in-person, only), check, and credit (Visa, MasterCard and Discover, only).
For entering and recording a Deed, Mortgage, Lis Pendens, UCC / Fixture Filing or any other instrument:
- $30 per document
- For any document which assigns or discharges more than one instrument: $3 must be added to the recording fee for each additional instrument assigned or discharged.
Transfer Tax on Total Consideration
- County Transfer Tax = $1.10 per $1,000
- State Transfer Tax = $7.50 per $1,000
State Transfer Tax became effective January 1, 1995
Warranty Deeds, Master Deeds, Land Contracts or Assignment of Land Contracts, which contain a covenant of warrant, must have a tax certificate from the County Treasurer’s Office (MCLA 211.135):
- Up to 5 Descriptions: $5
- Each Additional Description: $0.20
|Copy - Real & Personal Property Document - In-Person or by mail, per page||$1|
|Copy - Real & Personal Property Document - Online, per page||$1.20|
|Copy - State or Federal Tax Lien||$1|
|Copy - Plats (Recorded Subdivision) - per page||$2|
|Certification of any copies||$5|
|Federal tax lien search certificate||$3|
|Financing statement search certificate (U.C.C.) - 1 debtor name
|State tax lien search certificate||$3|
Recording Fee Change
Effective on October 1, 2016, all documents now cost $30 to record regardless of the number of pages. For a document that assigns or discharges more than 1 instrument $3 for each instrument assigned or discharged (in addition to the $30 flat fee). To certify a recorded document $5; copies remain at $1 per page. Recording fees are set by the Michigan Legislature. Public Acts 224 through 232 of 2016 have set the new fees.
By law this change applies to all counties in the State of Michigan except Wayne County.