Homeland Security Task Force

Regular Meetings

Washtenaw County Emergency Services Division
Emergency Operations Center
705 North Zeeb Road
Ann Arbor, MI 48103


Organization Discipline
Benjamin Pinette Sheriff Emergency Services Emergency Management and Communications
Vacant American Red Cross Volunteer Organization
Denise Bechard Trinity Health System Healthcare
Rob Arbini Mutual Aid Association Urban Fire Service
Matt Swiss Domino's Corporate Security Private Security
Keith Flores Washtenaw County Sheriff’s Office Sheriff
Adam Lape Washtenaw Road Commission Public Works
Andy Houde Mutual Aid Association Rural Fire Service
Brad Walvort U of M Health System Healthcare
Kim Collom Washtenaw County Public Health Local Public Health
Martin Smith Criminal Justice Association Municipal Law Enforcement
John Seto University of Michigan Education
Sydney Parmenter City of Ann Arbor OEM Municipal Planning Team
Russ Girbach Washtenaw County HazMat Team Hazardous Materials
Zachary Sankey Veterans Affairs Administration Healthcare
Marc Breckenridge Huron Valley Ambulance Emergency Medical Service
Dale Smith Criminal Justice Association Municipal Law Enforcement
Laura Drabczyk Eastern Michigan University Education
Katie Scott Board of Commissioners Government Administrative
Michigan Township Association Government Administrative


The Washtenaw County Homeland Security Task Force (also known as the Local Planning Team or LPT) was created by the Board of Commissioners to coordinate all county homeland security activities with federal, state and local governments; assess terrorism risks, response capabilities and needed improvements; develop community guidance and emergency response procedures; and recommend to the Board of Commissioners about utilization of federal and state homeland security grant funds.

The six counties of Southeast Michigan (Oakland, Macomb, Monroe, St. Clair, Washtenaw, and Wayne) and the City of Detroit have also formed a regional homeland security board (known as an Urban Area Security Initiative or UASI). This board coordinates grant funding for preparedness and response enhancement projects that are approved by the Department of Homeland Security. 

Additional Information

For additional information please call 734-222-3911.