Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award

County Public Defender Lloyd E. Powell received the Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award from outgoing State Bar of Michigan (SBM) President Edward Pappas and incoming President Charles Toy at the 2009 SBM Annual Meeting at the Awards Banquet held in the Grand Ballroom of the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Dearborn, Michigan on Wednesday, September 16, 2009. Janet K, Welch, Executive Director of SBM had previously notified Public Defender Powell that at its June meeting, the State Bar of Michigan Board of Commissioners approved the recommendation of the Awards Committee to select him and the veteran Prosecutor for Alpena County, Dennis P. Grenkowicz, to receive this prestigious award. The Frank J. Kelley Distinguished Public Service Award recognizes extraordinary governmental service by a member of the State Bar of Michigan.


Criteria for the award are:

  • A present or former member of the State Bar of Michigan
  • Service in public office (elected or appointed official) in a way that strengthens the American system of justice under the law
  • Demonstration of the highest standards of integrity, fairness, leadership, excellence, dedication to principle, and dedication to the ideals of democracy
  • Has made a significant lasting contribution to the nation, the state, or the community in which the public servant lives or serves

Previous Winners

  1. 1
  2. 2
  • 1998 - Frank J. Kelley
  • 1999 - Gerald R. Ford
  • 2000 - Dorothy Comstock Riley
  • 2001 - John D. O'Hair
  • 2002 - Senator Dan L. DeGrow; Saul A. Green
  • 2003 - Robert P. Griffin
  • 2004 - no award
  • 2005 - Representative John D. Dingell
  • 2006 - Philip A. Balkema; Honorable Douglas W Hillman
  • 2007 - Honorable Donald Shelton; Kym L. Worthy

Award Presentation Video